Surgical · Spine

63661

Removal of one or more percutaneously placed spinal neurostimulator electrode arrays, including fluoroscopy when used, typically for infection, failure, or loss of benefit.

3 sources ↓

Medicare
$743.50
Work RVU
4.95
Global, days
10
Region
Spine
Drawn from CMS

Documentation requirements

What must appear in the operative or office note to support the claim.

Source · Editorial brief grounded in 3 cited references ↓

  • Number of arrays removed and whether they were permanent implants
  • Reason for removal (infection, fracture, migration, loss of benefit)
  • Anchor and lead removal technique
  • Generator status and whether it was also removed
  • Cultures or wound findings if infection
  • Plan for re-implant if any

Applicable modifiers

Modifiers commonly billed with this code.

Source · AMA CPT modifier descriptors · CMS NCCI Policy Manual

What this code covers

Source · Editorial summary grounded in 3 cited references ↓

63661 covers removing percutaneous spinal cord stimulator leads that were implanted for a permanent system. Fluoroscopy is included when used. Reasons include infection, lead fracture, migration that cannot be fixed, loss of benefit, or a patient who needs an MRI the system cannot support.

The most common mistake is billing 63661 at the end of a trial. Pulling temporary trial leads that were placed for an external generator is not reported with this code. It is part of the trial. Use 63661 when the leads were anchored for a permanent implant and now need to come out.

If leads are removed and new ones placed in the same session, the correct code is 63663 (revision including replacement), not 63661 plus 63650. If the generator is also removed, that is reported with 63688. Global period is 10 days. If removal falls inside another procedure's global, add modifier 78 for a related complication. The diagnosis should explain why the hardware came out, such as infection or mechanical complication codes.

RVU & reimbursement

Component RVUs and Medicare national rate. Actual payment varies by GPCI locality.

Source · CMS Physician Fee Schedule, RVU26A · January 2026

Work RVU vs. total RVU

The work RVU (4.95) is the surgeon's own effort — the figure physician pay and productivity targets are built on. The total RVU (22.26) adds practice overhead and malpractice, and is what drives the Medicare payment below.

Work RVU 4.95
Practice expense RVU 16.33
Malpractice RVU 0.98
Total RVU 22.26
Medicare national rate $743.50
Global period 10 days

Payment by site of service

Medicare pays different rates by setting. HOPD typically pays substantially more than ASC for the same procedure.

Source · CMS OPPS Addendum B·ASC HCPCS payment rates·2026

SettingMedicare rate (national)
Office (PFS non-facility)
Procedure performed in physician's office
$743.50
HOPD (APC 5431)
Hospital outpatient department
$1,995.02
ASC (PI G2)
Ambulatory surgical center (freestanding)
$948.66

Common denial reasons

The recurring reasons claims for CPT 63661 get rejected.

Source · Editorial brief grounded in CMS NCCI edits, AAOS coding appeals, and cited references ↓

  • Billed for removal of temporary trial leads
  • Billed with 63650 when 63663 should be used for replacement
  • Missing diagnosis explaining the removal
  • No modifier 78 inside a related global period
  • Generator removal billed on the wrong code
  • Fluoroscopy billed separately

Frequently asked questions

Source · Generated from the editorial pipeline, verified against 3 cited references ↓

01Can you bill 63661 for removing trial leads?
No. Removing temporary trial leads placed for an external generator is not reported with 63661.
02What code is used to remove and replace SCS leads?
63663 covers revision including replacement of percutaneous arrays in the same session.
03Is fluoroscopy included in 63661?
Yes. Fluoroscopy is included when performed.

Sources & references

Editorial content was developed using the following public sources.

  1. 01CMS Physician Fee Schedule 2026
  2. 02
    cms.gov
    https://www.cms.gov/medicare/coding-billing/national-correct-coding-initiative-ncci-edits
  3. 03
    cms.gov
    https://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/search.aspx

Mira Scribe

Mira Scribe's notes record why the leads came out and what happens next, which supports the diagnosis coding and any later re-implant authorization.

See how Mira captures CPT 63661 documentation

Related CPT codes

Ready to transform your orthopedic practice?

See how orthopedic practices are running documentation, billing, and operations on a single voice-first platform.

Request Access